http://xcoredisk.oxysec.com/manual/menu-main

xCoreDisk Application (Rel. 2)


 Main menu

    Clicking on the icon in the Windows TrayBar the main application menu appears:



Mount disk / Unmount disk

    This command allows you to mount a previously created disk. By clicking on this menu the following window will appear:



     Once you have selected the disk to be mounted with the "Browse ..." button, enter the device password and click "OK". A new disk drive representing the encrypted virtual disk will appear in Windows Explorer. This device can be used as a normal storage disk.


   xCoreDisk in "Fast mode"

    The xCoreDisk device can be used normally without installing anything: in this case we will use virtual disks with transfer rate limited to about 4 MBytes/sec.

    However, it is possible to activate the fast mode which, thanks to the installation of a specific OxySec driver, allows you to manage the same disks with speeds that can even reach over 400 MBytes/sec.

    For more information refer to this page of the manual.


    The "Mount Disk" menu will change to "Unmount Disk" as shown in the following figure.

    The icon next to the word "Disable Disk" changes depending on whether the disk was mounted in normal mode or fast  mode:


    NOTE - If the device has a deadline (time license) set by OxySec, the disk activation dialog will also show the days left when the license expires.

    In this case it will be necessary to contact OxySec and use the xChannelClient.exe tool which can be downloaded from this page.

Disk

    This item opens an additional menu shown on the Disk menu page..


Device

    This item opens an additional menu shown on the Device menu page.


Startup execution

    The use of encrypted virtual disks requires that the XCoreDisk.exe application is running: if this application is not running it will not be possible to view the encrypted disk and then access its data. For this reason it can be convenient to make sure that the application starts automatically when the PC is switched on.

    Select the "Automatic execution" menu. A window will appear allowing you to activate or deactivate this feature.

     Choosing the option "Run automatically at startup"  the application will start at every system start. An icon will also appear on the desktop to restart the application if it is closed for some reason.

    In the dialog it is also possible to choose which version of the application must be started. To update the application that will automatically startto a different version, simply select it in the drop-down menu and click on the "Update" button.

    NOTE - The "Update" button is only active if the application being executed is not the one selected in the drop-down menu.


About

    Clicking on this menu opens the window that shows the version information of the application used:

    If there is also a device in a USB port, the window will also show some information about the device:

    The window also shows the expiration dates of licenses and support:

  • OxySec license expiration - This date represents the date beyond which the device will stop working: to extend this date it will be necessary to contact OxySec.
  • User license expiration - This date represents the date beyond which the device will stop working: to extend this date you will need to contact the company that has configured and released the xCoreDisk device in use.
  • Firmware support expiration - Once this date is over, it will no longer be possible to update the firmware of the device. xCoreDisk will still continue to work normally
  • Application Support Expiration - All xCoreApp applications released after this date will not work with the device in use; instead, the versions released before this date will continue to operate normally

Help

    This command opens the default browser on the initial page of the application manual.


Close

    With this command it is possible to close the xCoreDisk.exe application..

    NOTE - Closing the application implies the immediate deactivation of any active disk: if the operating system is writing to this disk drive, data may be lost or the entire contents of the disk may be lost. For this reason it is very important to make sure that the operating system has finished writing any files on the disk before disabling the disk or closing the application.